They’re More Than Bell Ringers

If you’re like me, the sound of that irritating bell ringing coming from the doorways of your favorite retail establishments has the ability to send annoying thoughts through your mind. Maybe even a little guilt too! Why guilt you may ask? How many times has that bell ringer looked you in the eye, wished you a Merry Christmas, opened the door for you while enduring the harsh elements outside, and you didn’t put a dime in their bucket? Probably more than you care to report, and that is okay because I was one of them too.

Several years ago when my son was in active addiction I scoured the Internet looking for a rehabilitation facility that wouldn’t cost me my life savings. I found the Salvation Army  (read about the program by clicking on the link) and learned they had several facilities throughout the United States and they didn’t charge a dime.

This program is run strictly off of donations without any government subsidy, now that is amazing!!

Although my son chose a different path, I began to look at the Salvation Army in a much different light. I always put money into their bucket now, with the hopes that a young man or woman will find their way and have a second chance at a better life.

I hope that you will reconsider dropping more than a few coins into their bucket this season, knowing that your money is helping those that truly need it.

(I am in no way affiliated with The Salvation Army, nor have they endorsed this post, but I think it is important to understand that this organization has deep roots with the capability to help those in need).

Bell-Ringing-Flyer-2

 

 

Leave a Reply

